Pasasalamat: A JesCom Holy Week Special 2015 | #JesComPASA

pasasalamat slide deck

PASASALAMAT: A JesCom Holy Week Special 2015


For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat,
I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink,
I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36
I needed clothes and you clothed me,
I was sick and you looked after me,
I was in prison and you came to visit me.
– Matthew 25:35


As Christians we are taught to exercise mercy and compassion, especially in the midst of suffering and indifference. Pope Francis, during his Papal Visit to the Philippines,  tells us that God’s love is “revealed in the generosity of so many people and in so many small miracles of goodness.” For those who have been shown goodness, their gratitude is boundless. And for many, the only way to express that gratitude is to pay it forward.

This Holy Week, Jesuit Communications Foundation brings us inspiring stories of kindness and gratitude. Hosted by Ms Winnie Cordero, the special will show how little acts of charity can create a ripple effect— changing countless lives and inspiring others to do the same.



Mae Paner, a political satirist, called on volunteers to open their homes for displaced families a day after Yolanda hit the country, thus creating Project Yakap. Marilyn Plata and her family, who were themselves survivors of Typhoon Ondoy, responded to that call. Adopting a family displaced by Yolanda is her family’s way of extending the generosity they have received when they needed it most.

The possibilities of snowballing kindness are endless. This is what the Tarlac Mountaineering Club members learned during one of their routine climbs in Tarlac. Despite living in poor conditions, the people they’d meet along the way would always give them a warm welcome. Often, they would be offered food and a roof above their heads. These acts of selflessness deeply touched the mountaineers that they’ve committed to support the community’s school children by providing them with school supplies at least three times a year. Today, the group’s support has snowballed into several other projects that benefit 14 barangays.

Meanwhile, Lilian Yango, a retired cook, volunteers for a feeding program in Quezon City. Initiated by the Ateneo Center for Educational Development (ACED), the feeding program has helped hundreds of children fight malnutrition. Lilian’s grandchildren are recipients of the feeding program. She says cooking for the children is her way of showing her gratitude to the people who have made the feeding program possible in her community. By volunteering, Lilian and her fellow volunteers believe that it only takes one spark to light a fire.


PASASALAMAT  will air on Holy Thursday, April 2, 2015 from 1-3PM on ABS-CBN 2.

April 2, Thursday
HK/SG- 10pm
Japan- 11pm
Sydney- 1am (April 3)
New Zealand- 3am (April 3)

April 4, Saturday
HK/SG- 6am
Japan- 7am
Sydney- 9am
New Zealand- 11am

For it will be seen across all territories: US, Canada, Europe, Middle East, Aspac, Australia and New Zealand.